Player Of The Year Kevin Kopps Leads D1Baseball All-Americans

Sign up for a premium account!

Arkansas closer Kevin Kopps is the D1Baseball Player of the Year, headlining our 2021 All-America teams.

Kopps was a revelation as a sixth-year senior closer for the Razorbacks. After posting an 8.18 ERA in the pandemic-shortened 2020 campaign, Kopps returned to Fayetteville for one final go-round and posted a season for the ages, going 12-1, 0.90 with 11 saves and a dazzling 131-18 K-BB mark in 89.2 innings as the Arkansas stopper. Thanks in large part to his signature cutter — the most dominant pitch in college baseball this season — Kopps held opponents to a .162 batting average. Even working out of the bullpen, the rubber-armed Kopps threw enough innings to qualify for the national ERA title, which he won by 0.39 runs, despite facing the best competition college baseball has to offer (Arkansas faced the toughest schedule in the nation). He was the most important player for a team that won every weekend of the regular season and entered the postseason as the No. 1 national seed.

CWS Finalists Vanderbilt and Mississippi State each placed two players on the All-America First Team, as did East Carolina. Vandy pitchers Kumar Rocker and Jack Leiter both lived up to their first-team preseason All-America billing and landed on the postseason team as well. SEC Player of the Year Tanner Allen and closer Landon Sims represent Mississippi State on the first team. And East Carolina placed second baseman Connor Norby and pitcher Gavin Williams on the first team.

Vanderbilt and NC State are tied for the most total All-Americans with three apiece. Third-team outfielder Enrique Bradfield joins Rocker and Leiter in the Vandy contingent. NC State is represented by second-team outfielder Jonny Butler, third-team outfielder Tyler McDonough, and third-team reliever Evan Justice.

Other teams with multiple All-Americans include Florida State and Notre Dame out of the ACC; Ole Miss and LSU out of the SEC; Stanford and Arizona out of the Pac-12; and Wright State out of the Horizon. The SEC leads all conferences with 12 All-Americans, followed by the ACC (10), Pac-12 (six), and Conference USA (four).

D1Baseball editors and national writers determined the All-America teams based on performance in the regular season and postseason, factoring in quality of competition.

First Team

CMatheu Nelson, Florida State.330/.436/.7731.2095319417236631584
1BNiko Kavadas, Notre Dame.305/.479/.7661.245461548216250532
2BConnor Norby, East Carolina.415/.484/.6591.14361246151551333418
3BTyler Locklear, VCU.345/.515/.6861.2015419412166646408
SSBrooks Lee, Cal Poly.342/.384/.6261.0105522227105718343
OFTanner Allen, Mississippi State.380/.451/.6241.07563245171165223310
OFQuincy Hamilton, Wright State.374/.535/.7711.30648179181565563220
OFColton Cowser, Sam Houston.374/.490/.6801.17055203101652423217
DHAaron Zavala, Oregon.392/.525/.6281.1535519914938503111
UTSpencer Schwellenbach, Nebraska.284/.403/.459.862481831264030449
SPJack Leiter, Vanderbilt1042.0817172010442171.128
SPTy Madden, Texas752.45181810113.244137.188
SPDoug Nikhazy, Ole Miss1222.451615109231142.186
SPKumar Rocker, Vanderbilt1432.52191910117.237173.164
SPGavin Williams, East Carolina1011.8815121181.121130.193
RPKevin Kopps, Arkansas1210.9033101189.218131.162
RPLandon Sims, Mississippi State401.6422001149.11491.161
UTSpencer Schwellenbach, Nebraska310.5718001031.2834.198

Second Team

CHenry Davis, Louisville.370/.482/.6631.1455018491548312410
1BDillan Shrum, Nevada.468/.527/.9681.4953512415154710191
2BJace Jung, Texas Tech.337/.462/.6971.1595620810216749454
3BHunter Wells, Louisiana Tech.385/.456/.6451.1016226220146134371
SSJacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss.355/.443/.5611.0046726216125538342
OFJonny Butler, NC State.376/.452/.6631.11552202121453264516
OFDylan Crews, LSU.362/.453/.6631.11663246161842394412
OFBrock Jones, Stanford.311/.453/.6461.09956206131862495914
DHJacob Berry, Arizona.352/.439/.6761.1156324719177033582
UTPaul Skenes, Air Force.410/.486/.6971.1834818821114322450
SPAndrew Abbott, Virginia962.87191700106.232162.228
SPBrendan Beck, Stanford923.0616152010625138.200
SPGeremy Guerrero, Indiana State1012.0814142099.11498.182
SPMatt Mikulski, Fordham901.4511115068.127124.127
SPAndrew Taylor, Central Michigan1141.8115155094.124125.189
RPBrett Kerry, South Carolina512.151731454.11084.226
RPCarson Palmquist, Miami112.2225001444.2875.143
UTPaul Skenes, Air Force112.7018001126.2930.208

Third Team

CDaniel Susac, Arizona.335/.392/.591.9836124224126519470
1BJT Schwartz, UCLA.396/.514/.6281.142441641284537281
2BJackson Glenn, Dallas Baptist.361/.429/.7171.14658233192053303313
3BAustin Knight, Charlotte.342/.398/.6151.01360234291163154913
SSRyan Bliss, Auburn.365/.428/.6541.0825021114154523306
OFKyle Battle, Old Dominion.319/.464/.6811.1455920715186156377
OFEnrique Bradfield Jr., Vanderbilt.346/.462/.419.881642348138443946
OFTyler McDonough, NC State.339/.423/.6311.05455233211545334813
DHTyler Black, Wright State.383/.496/.6831.17948183141359392511
UTGarett Delano, Mercer.337/.433/.558.991531901395231353
SPRodney Boone, UC Santa Barbara1142.3116161097.139128.165
SPLandon Marceaux, LSU772.54181710102.226116.238
SPNicholas Sinacola, Maine932.0412125079.123139.208
SPHunter Stanley, Southern Miss642.5616151010219127.198
SPParker Messick, Florida State823.101616009023126.234
RPEvan Justice, NC State523.7724401359.22574.188
RPTanner Kohlhepp, Notre Dame723.082310261.12265.195
UTGarett Delano, Mercer614.3215120081.12060.231