Sechrist, Dreiling lead Tennessee to first College World Series championship

College World Series

OMAHA — For the first time in program history, the Tennessee Volunteers are College World Series champions.

Tennessee beat Texas A&M 6-5 in Monday’s decisive third game of the CWS Finals, making the Volunteers the first No. 1 national seed to win the championship since Miami in 1999 — the first year of the 64-team NCAA tournament format.

Tennessee’s season will go down as one of the greatest in college baseball history, as the Volunteers finished 60-13 overall, earned an SEC regular-season co-title, won the SEC tournament, and finished the job in Omaha. Tennessee is the first national champion to[…]