2024 NCAA Tournament Host Sites


SEE ALSO: NCAA Tournament Automatic Bids

The 16 NCAA Baseball Tournament Regional host sites were announced on Sunday, and there were a couple of surprises among the selections.

The SEC and ACC lead all conferences with five hosts each, while the Big 12 and Pac-12 earned two host spots, and the American and Big West Conferences each earned a host spot.

Regarding the good decisions, the committee made Arizona a host and Top 16 seed, which is the right move. The Wildcats won the Pac-12 regular season and tournament titles, and for me, those accomplishments override a less-than-stellar RPI of 31.

Regarding the iffy decisions, the committee left out Indiana State, Mississippi State and Duke. The Sycamores hosted and were a national seed last season and were in good shape leading up to the MVC tournament with an RPI of 11. However, the Sycamores are hitting the road, while East Carolina, which has an RPI of 23, is hosting next weekend. Duke and Mississippi State also had strong cases. The Blue Devils won the ACC tournament and finished with 20 ACC wins to go with an RPI of 16, while the Bulldogs finished with 20+ SEC wins and had an RPI of 25. Dallas Baptist, which won the Conference USA tournament title, went 9-2 against Quad 1 teams and had an RPI of 17. It was also in the mix for a host spot. 

Here are the hosts: 

•            Athens, Georgia – Georgia (39-15)

•            Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (42-13)

•            Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (41-15)

•            Clemson, South Carolina – Clemson (41-14)

•            Bryan-College Station, Texas – Texas A&M (44-13)

•            Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon State (42-14)

•            Fayetteville, Arkansas – Arkansas (43-14)

•            Greenville, North Carolina – East Carolina (43-15)

•            Knoxville, Tennessee – Tennessee (50-11)

•            Lexington, Kentucky – Kentucky (40-14)

•            Norman, Oklahoma – Oklahoma (37-19)

•            Raleigh, North Carolina – NC State (33-20)

•            Santa Barbara, California – UC Santa Barbara (42-12)

•            Stillwater, Oklahoma – Oklahoma State (40-17)

•            Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (42-15)

•            Tucson, Arizona – Arizona (36-21)