Access the best college baseball coverage.


Indiana State's Jordan Shaffer (Indiana State Athletcis)


Midwest Connection: Battle For The Valley

There are 53 Division I teams from the 12 Midwest states (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin) that play in 12 different conferences.

In preparing for the 2022 season and doing the necessary homework for the Missouri Valley Conference preview, one thing was evident: The Valley will not be a one-bid league. You have Dallas Baptist at the top, which seemed to be closer to fact than opinion considering how much preseason support they received as the conference’s No. 1 team. Identifying the top team after DBU, however, wasn’t as easy.