Kirk Saarloos, TCU

Kirk Saarloos is our Assistant Coach of the Year. (TCU)


Survey Says: Nation’s Top 30 Recruiters

• Want more coverage? Subscribe Today

The early signing period ended last week, and soon we’ll take a look at some of the schools who made a real splash with their 2017 signing classes (keeping in mind that it’s impossible to know how the draft will impact those classes next summer). In the meantime, we wanted to honor the hard-working men who spend so much time out on the recruiting trail and away from their families: college recruiting coordinators.

As part of our recruiting questionnaire this fall, we asked Division I coaches to rank the five best recruiters in college baseball. We received 124 ballots back from Division I schools, and each school could only cast one ballot. First-place votes were worth five points, second-place votes were worth four, and so on.

A number of head coaches received plenty of votes for “best recruiters” too, but we aren’t including them in our official rankings. For the record, the 10 head coaches who received the most votes were Florida’s Kevin O’Sullivan, Tulane’s Travis Jewett, UCLA’s John Savage, Arizona’s Jay Johnson, Liberty’s Scott Jackson, Vanderbilt’s Tim Corbin, Nevada’s T.J. Bruce, UC Santa Barbara’s Andrew Checketts, Indiana’s Chris Lemonis, FIU’s Mervyl Melendez, Oklahoma State’s Josh Holliday and TCU’s Jim Schlossnagle (the last three tied for 10th among head coaches). Also, we conducted our survey before Andy Cannizaro became head coach at Mississippi State, so we’ll include him in the recruiting coordinator rankings below.

Without further ado, here are the top 30 recruiting coordinators in college baseball, as voted by their peers. Leading the list is D1Baseball’s 2016 Assistant Coach of the Year: TCU pitching coach Kirk Saarloos.

We also asked voters to choose the best recruiter in their own conference. Below the overall top 30 chart is a list of the top recruiting coordinators in each conference.

* Note: The recruiter rankings are voted on only by Division I baseball coaches.

Top 30 Recruiting Coordinators

1Kirk Saarloos, TCU513937117
2Tony Vitello, Arkansas4862175
3Kevin McMullan, Virginia9565
4Carl Lafferty, Ole Miss445663
5Andy Cannizaro, LSU*4445260
6Eric Snider, Louisville5361158
7Craig Bell, Florida4322446
8Justin Seely, Texas A&M525142
9Kevin Schnall, Coastal Carolina3251141
10Bradley LeCroy, Clemson213533
11Brad Bohannon, Auburn3122231
12Scott Forbes, North Carolina42130
13Mike Bell, Florida State4110128
14Chris Hart, NC State213124
T-15Scott Brown, Vanderbilt122121
T-15Gino DiMare, Miami132421
T-17Dan Fitzgerald, Dallas Baptist13215
T-17Josh Jordan, Duke11215
T-19Jason Kelly, Washington14213
T-19Terry Rooney, Alabama11213
T-21Gabe Alvarez, Southern California2111
T-21Sergio Brown, Arizona11211
T-21Tripp Couch, Houston11211
T-21Roger Williams, Louisville2111
T-25Bryant Ward, UCLA2110
T-25Ben Greenspan, Arizona State2210
T-25Pat Bailey, Oregon State3110
28Jeff Palumbo, East Carolina219
T-29Will Bolt, Texas A&M118
T-29Andrew See, Clemson1118
*Now head coach at Mississippi State

Best Recruiters In Every Conference

ACC: Kevin McMullan, Virginia

America East: Joe Pennucci, Stony Brook

American Athletic: Tripp Couch, Houston

Atlantic 10: Ryan Wheeler, St. Joseph’s

Atlantic Sun: Rusty McKee, Florida Gulf Coast

Big 12: Kirk Saarloos, TCU

Big East: (tie) Corey Muscara, St. John’s & Rich Wallace, Creighton

Big South: (tie) Mark Crocco, Presbyterian & Clint Chrysler, Winthrop

Big Ten: Nick Schnabel, Michigan

Big West: Eddie Cornejo, UC Santa Barbara

Colonial: Randy Hood, UNC Wilmington

Conference USA: (tie) Chad Caillet, Southern Miss & Jason Jackson, Florida Atlantic

Horizon: Jeff Mercer, Wright State

Ivy: Mike McCormick, Penn

MAAC: Matt Mazurek, Canisius

Mid-American: Alex Marconi, Kent State

MEAC: Barrett Shaft, Bethune-Cookman

Missouri Valley: Nate Thompson, Missouri State

Mountain West: (tie) Buddy Gouldsmith, New Mexico & Joe Oliveira, San Diego State

Northeast: Justin McKay, Fairleigh Dickinson

Ohio Valley: Adam Brown, Morehead State

Pac-12: Jason Kelly, Washington

Patriot: Jeff Kane, Navy

SEC: Tony Vitello, Arkansas

SoCon: (tie) Brent Shade, Mercer & Tony David, Samford

Southland: Lance Harvell, Sam Houston State

SWAC: Davin Pierre, Grambling State

Summit: Ryan Neill, Oral Roberts

Sun Belt: Kevin Schnall, Coastal Carolina

WCC: Danny Evans, Gonzaga

WAC: Elliott Cribby, Seattle

Join the Discussion


FILED UNDER , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,